top of page

Forum WebQuests / The Practical Application of Research / Social Networking

Pick one to answer and write a response to a classmates work.

Forum a: WebQuest

1. What are WebQuests? View the following video for background information.

2. Go to the following research study comparing WebQuests to another type of instruction.

Read the following sections:

Abstract

Review of Related Literature

Defining a WebQuest

Research Questions

Sample (Audience)

Discussion

The other sections may be read as your interest dictates

3. In a post to this forum discuss the following:

a. What do you think of the study? Did it convince you of their conclusions?

b. How might this type of research activity be adapted for an Action Research Study that you might do? It doesn't have to be anything the variables used here, just evaluate the approach and think about how you might adapt it for your own use. Remember, you only have to design a study.

 

Forum b: The Practical Application of Research

1. Read the article The Case Against Laptops (Web) (PDF) , and the blog response below by Joel Speranza (Web) (PDF)

In a post to this forum discuss the following:

1. What did you think of the arguments each presented? Why?

2. Which article appeared to have the better research to back it up?

3. What's your opinion—and of course, why?

Response:

1. What did you think of the arguments each presented? Why?

I think both have valid arguments. Both discussed getting distracted, encouraging class discussions, task-switching, note taking and retention. I can see laptops tend to be a bit distracting to some students and professors but I am wondering if any of the professors choose to use laptops to make the class more interactive and engaging.

2. Which article appeared to have the better research to back it up?

I found the article that Joel wrote gave more in depth research to backup his claims that laptops help with student involvement.

3. What's your opinion—and of course, why?

I agree with the article that Joel wrote because many professors do not examine and change their teaching methods if students are distracted the professors need to make them want to pay attention instead of taking it out on the students technology. It would be great if the professors gave students the ability to contribute to both online and in class discussions. I liked how Joel wrote that “Computers, Paper, windows, small bugs and light breezes all distract students. Students get distracted. When do they get distracted? When they’re not engaged.” I find that this statement to be true. If the students do not find the topic fascinating or finds that your lecture is a complete bore they will often get distracted by the simplest things. I tend to take a variety of notes on my electronic devices. Taking notes works best for me on an electronic device I recall faster with typing than I do with writing and I am a very slow writer. Computers are not made just to be note-taking machines they are so much more. Professors need to utilize and learn about technology. I think that the professor should find the best application of technology to use in there course and situation be it slates, pen or pencil and paper, or a computer.

Classmates post:

1. I thought both arguments had valid points. I also think both authors were arguing about a topic that was a little different. In the first article, the author seems to be referring strictly to lecture structured college classes. In these types of lessons, it is mostly the professor lecturing the students. I can see his point in that having a laptop is very distracting to listen and take notes. In the blog post, the author seems to be describing a class that is not a lecture format. In this case, he is right if students are engaged in the material/more involved, then the laptops would not be distracting. It seems like the blogger has come up with a valid argument against banning laptops, but he has not thought about all the pros and cons of the situation. For example, he did not really give concrete examples about his argument and did not think about the benefits of using paper and pen when taking notes. I think if he thought from a lecture standpoint, maybe he would be a little more openminded about banning laptops.

2. I thought the first article had more research to back up claims. He tended to reference more studies as he discussed his points. The second article seemed more of a response/opinion to the first author's opinion. He only quoted from the first article.

3. In my opinion, I agree with both points. I think there is a time and a place to use laptops in the classroom that can be engaging for students and give them the opportunity to discuss/share their ideas in an online fashion. However, based on experience in my undergrad years, I remember the boatloads of information we learned in a class sitting. There is not a lot of time to get through the materials and have a discussion in class. Many of my classes were structured in a lecture format. We would listen to the professor, and sometimes for homework we had the opportunity to share our ideas in an online discussion. In these classes, I always took notes with pen and paper because I would get very distracted on the computer. Sometimes, I would even get distracted if the person in front of me was taking notes on their laptop and browsing Facebook at the same time. At the end of the day however, I think it should be the students choice on how they decide to take notes. They are no longer in elementary school and should be able to make their own decisions.

Response to classmates post:

I agree that both arguments had valid points and that both authors were arguing about different lesson types. One of the article talks about the use of laptops in the more traditional sense using the laptop as a notebook to take notes in the teacher-centered or lectured based way and the other article uses the student-centered format.

I feel that I am terribly slow at writing using a pen and paper and every time I use a pen or pencil I smudge the paper "being left handed" and when it comes back to studying I have difficulty studying what I wrote down and I feel like when I use a computer I am much faster at typing and have notes I can read and understand.

 

Forum c: Social Networking

Go to this article Are Social Networking Sites Good for Our Society? It has a roundup of 23 Pro/Con arguments covering the topic. Skim through the topics. then, pick matched one Pro/Con argument and evaluate each on the basis of their arguments. (Web) (PDF)

Respond with a Forum post as follows:

1. Read each argument and determine which has the better case in your opinion.Why? What evidence sways you in that direction?

2. Follow the footnotes and track down one of the sources used in each argument. Which has better and more credible-sounding resources in your opinion?


Categories
Recent Posts
bottom of page